A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Easiest way to remote to my computer at home

Easiest way to remote to my computer at home

Postby kanaloa » Wed Nov 07, 2007 12:57 am

I love how I can VPN to my network at work and then Remote to my desktop there.

What's the most simple way for me to do this at home? I'd love to be able to access my PC here at home while I'm at work.

I'm going to toss out my past attempts... old school.

Thanks for any tips.
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Postby Grav!ty » Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:02 am

I've never used it, but I believe LogMeIn is a very good free remote access program
Image

"The great majority of mankind are satisfied with appearances, as though they were realities, and are often more influenced by the things that seem than by those that are." - Niccolo Machiavelli
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 15790
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:22 am
Real Name: Graham

Postby kanaloa » Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:04 am

Thanks Graham, I'll give them a try.
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Postby Grav!ty » Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:06 am

It must be really good to access your resources and files and stuff from somewhere else. It's something I've always been interested in but never got to play with/use. It will be great to know how you go with that John :yesnod:
Image

"The great majority of mankind are satisfied with appearances, as though they were realities, and are often more influenced by the things that seem than by those that are." - Niccolo Machiavelli
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 15790
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:22 am
Real Name: Graham

Postby swateam48 » Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:06 am

I have used <a href="http://www.uvnc.com" target="_blank">Ultra VNC</a> before and it works pretty well.
Image
Image
PRO Level 10
User avatar
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Florida

Postby Nativedude » Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:27 am

I've used RealVNC before, but it was a while ago, and I've used LogMeIn before too
If I had to choose between the two I would say LogMeIn

But usually I just unblock the remote port on the router and firewall @ home and use the built-in Remote Desktop tool
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 9:59 pm
Location: Historical Yorktown, Virginia USA
Real Name: Adam Durham

Postby adnanmadi » Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:57 am

Nativedude wrote:I've used RealVNC before, but it was a while ago, and I've used LogMeIn before too
If I had to choose between the two I would say LogMeIn

But usually I just unblock the remote port on the router and firewall @ home and use the built-in Remote Desktop tool


I am satisfied with Microsoft built in remote desktop connection, you can do anything you want from there after sharing your resources. I never needed something else to use, I can even play games on my remote computer when I have high bandwidth ;)

go for it, but you need to correctly forward the ports and open the firewall, it is not hard though.
<img src='http://img118.imageshack.us/img118/9747/adnanmadisigblurfinalix7.jpg' border='0'>
"God only created a few perfect heads ... the rest he covered with hair."
PRO Level 11
User avatar
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Ramallah, Palestine
Real Name: Adnan Madi

Postby imnuts » Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:09 pm

adnanmadi wrote:
Nativedude wrote:I've used RealVNC before, but it was a while ago, and I've used LogMeIn before too
If I had to choose between the two I would say LogMeIn

But usually I just unblock the remote port on the router and firewall @ home and use the built-in Remote Desktop tool


I am satisfied with Microsoft built in remote desktop connection, you can do anything you want from there after sharing your resources. I never needed something else to use, I can even play games on my remote computer when I have high bandwidth ;)

go for it, but you need to correctly forward the ports and open the firewall, it is not hard though.


The only hard part might be connecting to the correct IP, but setting up a DynDNS account and having your router auto-update the IP solves that part.
Image
PRO SUPREME
User avatar
Posts: 7457
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:19 am
Location: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Real Name: Mark

Postby ZeroByte » Wed Nov 07, 2007 8:58 pm

Grav!ty wrote:I've never used it, but I believe LogMeIn is a very good free remote access program


I have LogMeIn free on my home PC and use it from anywhere with a internet connection. Very nice as there is no router config or port forwarding needed.

Drawbacks of the free version is there is no file transfer. The pro version offers this though but that is a monthly or yearly fee.
ZeroByte
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1199
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2002 2:12 am
Location: Mexico, NY
Real Name: Mike Sheats

Return to Guides

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
cron