A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Dual boot XP Vista

Forum rules
Please start your own topic for support with problems you experience. Even if it appears to be exactly the same as someone else's problem, system configurations differ significantly. Thank you.

It may take our support staff between 24-48 hours to respond to your problem. We are a small business and strive to answer your questions as soon as possible. We appreciate your patience.

Dual boot XP Vista

Postby irvdk » Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:32 am

I need a little help. Can someone tell me if this is correct?
There is currently 2 OS(s) installed in the boot manager.
Current timeout before default boots: 30
Default OS: Windows Vista (TM) Business (recovered)

Entry # 1
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Name: Windows Vista (TM) Business (recovered)
BCD ID: {default}
Boot Drive: V:
Windows Drive: V:
System Bootloader: \Windows\system32\winload.exe
Windows Directory: \Windows

Entry # 2
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Name: WIndows
BCD ID: {ntldr}
Boot Drive: C:
Windows Drive:
System Bootloader: \ntldr
Windows Directory:
Thanks Irv
Irv
PRO New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:29 am
Location: USA

Postby JabbaPapa » Mon Feb 05, 2007 8:09 am

Hey irvdk, Welcome to PROnetworks !!!

I'm not sure what behaviour you're experiencing, but the normal way to create a Vista/XP dual boot environment is :

1) Install XP (if necessary)

2) Ensure that you have a separate drive/partition for Vista

3) Install Vista to that location

---

Normally, the dual boot should be created automatically.

Are you having any problems there ?
Image
PRO VETERAN
User avatar
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 5:17 pm
Location: Monte-Carlo
Real Name: Julian Lord

Postby irvdk » Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:33 pm

What happened is everything was working fine after I added Vista to a new partition. A day later I had a problem and found it necessary to restore XP to a backup from before the installation of Vista.
After that when I booted up I had no menu to select which operating system I wanted it just went to Vista. I download and installed Vista Boot 3.1 and ran it. I have to leave it set on Legacy in order for it to work. If I don't then I gt a message saying that the "bootload.exe is missing or corrupt. When in XP and I right click on My Computer, properties, advanced,startup and recovery, settings, "Default Operating Systems" the only thing that shows is XP on Vista.
Irv
Irv
PRO New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:29 am
Location: USA

Postby JabbaPapa » Mon Feb 05, 2007 6:35 pm

Oooh, that's an interesting one !

Can you boot into XP at all ?

If you can boot into XP, run the VBP and restore the Vista bootloader ...
Image
PRO VETERAN
User avatar
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 5:17 pm
Location: Monte-Carlo
Real Name: Julian Lord

Postby irvdk » Mon Feb 05, 2007 6:37 pm

What is VBP and how do I run it??
Irv
PRO New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:29 am
Location: USA

Postby JabbaPapa » Mon Feb 05, 2007 6:44 pm

VistaBootPRO, sorry for the acronym ...
Image
PRO VETERAN
User avatar
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 5:17 pm
Location: Monte-Carlo
Real Name: Julian Lord

Postby irvdk » Mon Feb 05, 2007 7:26 pm

OK thanks I'll see if I understand that.
Irv
PRO New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:29 am
Location: USA

Postby kd1966 » Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:29 am

Try this: VistaBootPRO 3.1
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Postby irvdk » Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:35 am

Thanks I'll do that.
Irv
PRO New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:29 am
Location: USA

Return to Windows Boot Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
cron