A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Dual boot Windows 7 and XP (2 HDD)

Dual boot Windows 7 and XP (2 HDD)

Postby dude11 » Mon Nov 23, 2009 5:14 am

Hi, I'm pretty new to this stuff, but I had Win XP on one HD. Just bought a new HD and installed WIN 7 on it. wanted to have a screen that asked me which OS to boot, so I wouldn't have to switch my HDD in the BIOS everytime. Thought that VistaBootpro would do the trick.

So I used Vista boot pro from within the Win 7 OS (don't know if that matters), and then added windows XP under "manage OS entries". I put it in as a Windows legacy on the D drive. Win 7 is set as the default on the C drive.

When I start up my computer the boot manager does come up, and asks me which OS to run. However, if I click on Windows XP, it starts the computer up from the beginning again, and I end up back at the boot manager. It works fine when I choose WIN 7. Any ideas on what I am doing wrong? thanks.
PRO New Member

Re: Dual boot Windows 7 and XP (2 HDD)

Postby NT50 » Mon Nov 23, 2009 2:16 pm

Please follow the guide below to get your XP working.

Dual Boot Trouble Shooting Guide - XP / Windows 7 Running
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member

Postby NT50 » Mon Nov 23, 2009 2:17 pm

Forgot you mentioned VistaBootPro.

Dual Boot Trouble Shooting Guide / Vista Running

This has VistaBootPro in it. When you see Vista, just insert Win 7 into that spot.
PROfessional Member

Postby Digbyou812 » Sat Dec 12, 2009 7:10 am

I have two hard drives, one bootable drive is XP SP3 and the other is Windows 7. Each OS was installed on its' drive while the other drive was not connected. This has likely created my problem but I am at a loss to know how to correct it. My issue does seems quite similar to the earlier post with this possible exception.