A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Dual Boot Vista/XP

Forum rules
Please start your own topic for support with problems you experience. Even if it appears to be exactly the same as someone else's problem, system configurations differ significantly. Thank you.

It may take our support staff between 24-48 hours to respond to your problem. We are a small business and strive to answer your questions as soon as possible. We appreciate your patience.

Dual Boot Vista/XP

Postby kingpin393 » Wed Mar 07, 2007 4:50 pm

Hi, I am an avid computer user but i am really new to vista and SATA.

Ok, this is what I have:

An HP pavillion PC with a 320gig SATA HD. I have Vista home premium installed on it. Since it is and HP i don't have the Vista DVD, only my restore DVDs.

This is what I want to do:

I have a 80gig IDE HD from an old computer. I want to install it and put windows XP on it. Then have a boot menu to choose which OS boots.

My questions:

Is this even possible?
If so, how do i go about doing it?
- what pin setting should my IDE drive be? master or slave?
- i don't want to have to reinstall Vista if it can be avoided.

Any help would be appreciated.

Kevin
Last edited by kingpin393 on Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
PRO Level 2

Postby augie » Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:06 pm

Hi and welcome aboard kingpin393. I deleted your other post as only one is needed and we see them all. :) Someone will be by soon to help you.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director

Postby kd1966 » Wed Mar 07, 2007 6:23 pm

Hi kingpin393, since you don't have the Vista install DVD, you may want to contact HP and tell them you need it, as there will be times you DON'T want to destroy all your data trying to recover.