A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Dreamweaver publishing

Dreamweaver publishing

Postby T-Man1984 » Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:09 pm

I am trying to publish a site using dreamweaver. I have always used frontpage. I could choose between uploading it via FTP or HTTP in frontpage. I don't see the option to upload via HTTP in dreamweaver. Am I missing something?
PRO Level 6
User avatar
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 12:27 am
Location: Ohio
Real Name: Justin Spafford

Postby Absolute-Zero » Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:39 pm

You can't upload via http using Dreamweaver. FrontPage let you use the http protocol because it relies on Server Extensions installed on the host machine which FrontPage communicates with when uploading software. Other packages can't use these extensions.

There are other ways of uploading files via http (such as webdav and the PUT verb) but these tend to be disabled due to security issues.
Image
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 2495
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Forever blowing bubbles...
Real Name: Dan

Return to HTML, CSS, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
cron