A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

design question

design question

Postby Krisstopher » Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:01 pm

Hello friends
I am desiging a site and I asked this other guy for help and he said to use frames before I use Flash, Applets or JavaScripts. What do you guys think? I have a long page that I am using a static menu on but he suggested using frames cause he says it would load quicker. Do you think that is correct?

thanks in advance
PRO New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:55 pm

Postby lolzlolz » Fri Dec 21, 2007 5:28 am

this should be posted in the webmaster forum, not many people will look at it here :(
PRO Level 2
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 4:31 pm

Postby NT50 » Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:16 pm

I moved this here in hopes of more attention to question.


EDIT: BTW, most websites are going to CSS, java, and flash.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby THE ONE » Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:01 pm

FRAMES... are you serious.

I wont suggest that. Currently <TABLE> <TR> <TD> are used to divide pages into sections.
Image
PRO Level 2
User avatar
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: Pakistan

Postby frenchsquared » Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:15 pm

FRAMES- many many years ago

anyway if you want it to load fast and work similar to flash look at ajax or XML
I love flash, but it depends on the content, because not everyone can access flash

I would use XML with an external CSS to create a flowing table
you would never have to reload the header or navigation
just reload the main text field, defined by XML, look at SPRY regions
very simple to set up

Good luck
<a>FrenchSquared.com</a>

<a>F2-4Kids.com</a>
PRO Level 4
User avatar
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 5:38 pm

Postby imnuts » Tue Jan 08, 2008 2:27 am

THE ONE wrote:FRAMES... are you serious.

I wont suggest that. Currently <TABLE> <TR> <TD> are used to divide pages into sections.


tables are mostly out of style as well as they are to rigid of a design. You'd be better off, at least as far as fluidity, to use div's and CSS to move things around and style the page as it would then be easier to redo if you ever wanted to redesign. Just edit the CSS and your div's can be moved around the page without any changes in the coding on the page.
Image
PRO SUPREME
User avatar
Posts: 7457
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:19 am
Location: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Real Name: Mark

Postby NT50 » Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:08 am

My wesite uses CSS. The only bad part about it is I did not write the initial design and still do not understand CSS. I want to learn CSS real bad but at the moment I do not even have a spare 30 minutes a day
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby frenchsquared » Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:46 pm

CSS is very easy, I am learning on trial and error
plus there a tones of hints online for CSS
it only gets hard when working with effects like transparency's
you have to put a separate transparency tag for every browser

NT50 just paly with your CSS file and you will quickly see how to change it

My wife knows nothing about coding. Never really even scene it and she is figuring out the CSS
to customizer her Myspace page
<a>FrenchSquared.com</a>

<a>F2-4Kids.com</a>
PRO Level 4
User avatar
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 5:38 pm

Return to HTML, CSS, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests