A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

CSS Help

CSS Help

Postby T-Man1984 » Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:32 pm

I am in need of some knowledge.

I built my first website with CSS. I used a ready made template. When I view the site from both my home PC's it looks fine. When my fiancee looks at it from her PC across town it looks fine.

However, when I look at it from work, the whole page is white and all the text, links, and menu's are down the left hand side. Is there something that could be blocking the CSS file from loading?

All the above mentioned PC's are using XP.

Help.. I want to make sure my site looks like it should on all the computers, not just my home.
PRO Level 6
User avatar
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 12:27 am
Location: Ohio
Real Name: Justin Spafford

Postby _Taz_ » Fri Dec 28, 2007 3:54 pm

is the website where we can see it?
maybe something weird on just that machine.
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 2:01 pm
Location: Florida

Postby T-Man1984 » Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:11 pm

http://www.jspafford.com

The first page is a flash, the second one which it leads into is the problem

The direct link to the trouble page is http://www.jspafford.com/index1.html
PRO Level 6
User avatar
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 12:27 am
Location: Ohio
Real Name: Justin Spafford

Postby _Taz_ » Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:21 pm

i pulled it up in IE7 and as far as I can tell it's fine. (might want to have someone proof read it for you, maybe move some of the text off of the left margin. I pulled up the Renaissance festival page ok, the thumbnail links appear to be off by 1 picture. )

I tried it in FF 2.0.0.11 and the flash does not load, but if you skip intro it seems ok.
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 2:01 pm
Location: Florida

Postby _Taz_ » Fri Dec 28, 2007 5:02 pm

I copied your index source local and I changed
Code: Select all
 <if> <--><object data="flash\main_3temp.swf"


to

Code: Select all
 <if> <--><object data="flash/main_3temp.swf"


(note the change from backslash to forward slash)
and the flash works for me in FF now.
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 2:01 pm
Location: Florida

Postby T-Man1984 » Fri Dec 28, 2007 5:53 pm

Weird, I just tried it at work again and now it works. I don't understand it..

I have never dealt with CSS before, it's neat.

It's my personal page, right now it is a rough draft. I will have to check into the thumbnails.

Thanks!
PRO Level 6
User avatar
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 12:27 am
Location: Ohio
Real Name: Justin Spafford

Postby T-Man1984 » Thu Jan 03, 2008 3:26 am

I have given up on the CSS side of things. I am trying to re-create the page in Frontpage 2003. What I am having a problem with is making the header. I can insert the picture a couple times, but instead of filling the whole page left to right there is a gap all the way around. How do I tell frontpage I want this image to be a header and to repeat from left to right regardless of screen resolution?

Here is what I am tying to make.

http://www.jspafford.com/index1.html

That page is CSS, I want that header in Frontpage. How do I do it?

Thanks!
PRO Level 6
User avatar
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 12:27 am
Location: Ohio
Real Name: Justin Spafford

Return to HTML, CSS, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest