A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Catalyst install manager has stopped working (9.7 or 9.8 ati

Catalyst install manager has stopped working (9.7 or 9.8 ati

Postby markm75 » Sun Aug 23, 2009 2:50 pm

Since i upgraded from win vista x64 ultimate to win 7 ultimate.. i've been unable to update my display driver setup to the newer 9.7 or even 9.8 ati set..

I have an ati 4870 card (two of them) in my system.. i just ran the upgrade, it worked, however i was never able to bring up the CCC catalyst software...

And when i try to run either 9.7 or 9.8 setup i get that error about the catalyst install manager has stopped working.. this blows up just after i click the button "install" (the other choice was uninstall)..

I've even tried the MS cleaner tool, tried running the ati remover.. then i cleared out all ati directories, and also ran the old driver cleaner pro tool (which still worked even though upgraded to 7)..

I really dont want to have to go clean install as i have Tons of apps and it would take days..

Has anyone ran into this and know of a way to get the ati software installed?

Thanks
TV: Samsung HLT-6187S ;LCDs: WH 24" L2410NM x 3 PC (HTPC/fsx/server): Asus Rampage II Extreme;i7 920 2.66ghz, 12GB OCZ3RPR13334GK 66620 1.75v 1333(UC 1066 @9-9-9-26 1.65v), 10/12-drive icydock MB453IPF-B (3ware pciex4 raid x4=D), Thermaltake Armor VA8000BWS, Vista x64; Video: dual ind ati 4870s Audio: Onkyo TX-SR606 w/Onkyo HTS780 speakers, Velodyne CT-10 sub; Xbox 360; Media Player: Sony BDP-S350 BluyRay; MediaRecorder: LG GGW-H20L; MCSE 2003-Aug 2k6
PRO Level 2
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 3:44 pm
Location: pa

Re: Catalyst install manager has stopped working (9.7 or 9.8 ati

Postby JabbaPapa » Sun Aug 23, 2009 3:41 pm

I don't have that much experience with Catalyst drivers, although I seem to remember the setup software as being prone to these sorts of accidents.

Try this -- run setup, and instead of letting it automatically choose the extraction location, use an easily retrievable location like your desktop or documents folder. Once it moves to the next step after extraction, cancel setup.

Go into the folder created, and run setup from there -- if necessary, right-click on the setup .exe and select "run as administrator".
Image
PRO VETERAN
User avatar
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 5:17 pm
Location: Monte-Carlo
Real Name: Julian Lord

Return to General Windows Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 2 guests