A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Can DualBoot Pro handle 32-bit AND 64-bit at same time??

Forum rules
This forum is meant for support of PRO Software only. PROnetworks reserves the right to edit any topic title to better explain the contents of a post. We also may move your post to a more suitable forum if necessary.

It may take our support staff up to 24 hours to respond to your problem. We appreciate your patience.

Can DualBoot Pro handle 32-bit AND 64-bit at same time??

Postby Nuffyfluts » Thu Apr 22, 2010 1:29 pm

Is it possible to handle Win XP and Vista, both in 32-bit format, simultaneously with a Win7 at 64-bit?

:question
PRO New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 3:50 pm

Re: Can DualBoot Pro handle 32-bit AND 64-bit at same time??

Postby yeshuas » Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:02 pm

I currently have a 32 bit install of Windows 7 and an install of Server 2008R2 64 bit dual booting.

What OS's do you currently have installed?
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Can DualBoot Pro handle 32-bit AND 64-bit at same time??

Postby Nuffyfluts » Thu Apr 22, 2010 3:55 pm

yeshuas wrote:I currently have a 32 bit install of Windows 7 and an install of Server 2008R2 64 bit dual booting.

What OS's do you currently have installed?


I have Windows Vista Ultimate (32-bit) and WinXP Pro (32-bit) on a single hardrive.
I can get DualBoot Pro to work with these two operating systems without any problem.

I have a second hardrive with Win7 Ultimate (64-bit).

I want to know if DualBoot Pro will allow me to add the 64-bit operating system to the two systems operating at 32-bit.

:question
PRO New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 3:50 pm

Re: Can DualBoot Pro handle 32-bit AND 64-bit at same time??

Postby yeshuas » Thu Apr 22, 2010 4:03 pm

I am assuming that you unplugged the drive with the 2 OS's on it to install the 64 Bit OS onto the other harddrive, is that correct?

I am also assuming that, you change drives in Bios to boot to the different harddrive.
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Can DualBoot Pro handle 32-bit AND 64-bit at same time??

Postby Nuffyfluts » Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:02 pm

Yes to both questions/assumptions.

:wave: :wave:
PRO New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 3:50 pm

Re: Can DualBoot Pro handle 32-bit AND 64-bit at same time??

Postby yeshuas » Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:29 pm

Check out this guide and see if it might help you. Some of it will not pertain to your situation, but some of it will. Perhaps the part of installing/reinstalling the bootloader is what you need to start with. With all drives plugged in, run the diagnostics of Dualbootpro, and see what it tells you first.

unplugged-xp-drive-for-vista-setup-can-t-dual-boot-to-xp-t84455.html
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Return to PRO Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
cron