A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Cab Files Install and Relocate

Cab Files Install and Relocate

Postby s. sengupta » Wed Jul 17, 2002 1:37 am

1. Insert your windows XP CD.
2. Click on, Perform Additional Tasks.
3. Click on, Browse this CD.
4. Look for the I386 folder, right click on the folder and copy.
5. Get into, My Computer and create a unique folder.
6. Right click on your new folder and paste.

Then alter the source path: Start/Run/Regedit
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

In the right pane, double click SourcePath and type in exactly, the path to where the cab files can be found. (The folder to where the cab files have been copied to). Registry, exit. :)
Image
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1226
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 11:52 am
Location: India

Postby XJan87 » Wed Jul 17, 2002 7:03 am

Doesn't XP store a harddrive copy by default?
Me surely does...
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 5:05 am
Location: Finland

Postby epec254 » Wed Jul 17, 2002 12:10 pm

Most OEM's (Dell, HP, etc), put the cabs on the hard disk. Windows has never done it by default (at least for me)
VP - Technology
VP - Technology
Posts: 1522
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2002 1:31 pm
Location: USA

Postby s. sengupta » Wed Jul 17, 2002 11:50 pm

Sure XP stores a harddrive copy by default.
But if it gets corrupted then ...
Image
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1226
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 11:52 am
Location: India

Return to Guides

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
cron