A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Bring to the table...

Bring to the table...

Postby Weaver » Wed Jul 09, 2003 4:47 pm

Now that this section is up and running, I think it would be a great time for those who are brave enough to go ahead and post what they can bring to the table. What languages are you familiar with? How much programming/scripting experience do you have? Have you taken classes or are you a self-taught programmer? Favorite languages? Languages that scare you to death? I am curious to see the depth available here at pronetworks.

I guess I'll start first. I did absolutely no programming in high-school. In fact, I wasn't even a "computer guy" for the majority of high-school... I was a jock... Imagine that. My senior year I started to show a strange affinity toward the computer. I wouldn't get off of it. I was very intrigued yet still very much a novice. I was fascinated by the command line, which I believe is where my curiosity of programming began. I was always kind of upset that it didn't take much to use windows, everyone (almost) can point and click if they know where to go. But not everyone can use the command line and chain together commands to accomplish tasks.

I remember the first command I learned ( at about age 13) was "dir" like everyone else. Then I learned "dir /p". I can remember the first time I saw my stepfather type in "mem /c | more". Since the mem command didn't have a /p or anything you had to pipe it to more. I used that left and right. I had no idea what it did nor did I understand the concept of a pipe. That didn't matter, I was having fun. I could maneuver around the DOS command line, move and copy files etc. The one cool thing I could do was zip files from a command line using PKWare. Does anyone remember PKZip and PKUnzip? I'll be honest, it was to hide my "naughty" pictures when I was 14. I would zip them all up and password protect them, all from a command line. May not be appropriate but it was sure a rush.