Strict Standards: Non-static method utf_normalizer::nfc() should not be called statically in /home/twc/pronetworks_html/forums/includes/utf/utf_tools.php on line 1804
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 1038: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1804)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 1038: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1804)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 1038: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1804)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4764: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1804)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4766: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1804)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4767: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1804)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4768: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/utf/utf_tools.php:1804)
BCDEDIT Boot into safe mode : General Windows Support
A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

BCDEDIT Boot into safe mode

BCDEDIT Boot into safe mode

Postby igb79 » Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:12 pm

Is it possible to add Vista safe mode entry to the boot menu so that I have two Vista entries: one regular and one safe mode? I can change this by opening msconfig.exe and checking Safe boot in Boot tab, but I'm not sure how to create another entry.
PRO New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: BCDEDIT Boot into safe mode

Postby kd1966 » Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:27 pm

igb79 wrote:Is it possible to add Vista safe mode entry to the boot menu so that I have two Vista entries: one regular and one safe mode? I can change this by opening msconfig.exe and checking Safe boot in Boot tab, but I'm not sure how to create another entry.


Hi igb79, and welcome to PROnetworks!! Please stop by our Introduction Area so we can welcome you properly.

As to your issue........... Possibly MS wanted the Safemode "hidden" in this manner, I'm not sure. Please be patient as our other knowledgable members stop by and weigh in with their views. Enjoy the site!
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Postby Grav!ty » Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:40 pm

One can also just hit F8 repeatedly at boot if you have single installation or if one is dual booting select the Vista installation and then hit F8 to get to select safe mode :yesnod:
Last edited by Grav!ty on Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

"The great majority of mankind are satisfied with appearances, as though they were realities, and are often more influenced by the things that seem than by those that are." - Niccolo Machiavelli
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 15790
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:22 am
Real Name: Graham

Postby igb79 » Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:47 pm

I figured it out:

bcdedit /set safeboot minimal

Other switches after safeboot: network, dsrepair, minimal (alternateshell)

and to delete safeboot entry:

bcdedit /deletevalue safeboot
PRO New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:03 pm
Location: USA

Postby kd1966 » Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:49 pm

Cool! Was there a reason you needed a safeboot entry in the bootloader?
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Return to General Windows Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests