A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

bad motherboard?

Re: bad motherboard?

Postby yeshuas » Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:38 pm

Here is how you clear the bios; I would maybe check to see if they had already cleared the bios and forgot to put the jumper cap back of pins 1 & 2 and left them of pins 2 & 3
1.Turn off the PC and unplug the power cord.
2.Move the CLRTC jumper cap from pins 1-2 (normal) to pins 2-3 (clear CMOS).
3.Keep the CLRTC jumper cap on pins 2-3 for 5 to 10 seconds, then move it back to pins 1-2.
4.Plug in the power cord and turn on the PC.
5.Press F1 as the PC starts to enter BIOS setup and change BIOS settings.
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: bad motherboard?

Postby Xstream » Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:48 pm

Thanks, tried that with no luck, the guy wrote back with these suggestions....


1- if you already installed the motherboard in a case then take it out and test it on top of a cardboard box (or something like that) to make sure it's not grounding. Clear the CMOS jumper for 10 secs while you have the board outside the case and then set it back to normal position.
2- make sure you test with with different power supplies and memory sticks. If possible use good quality RAM (high density ram is more likely to have compatibility issues)
3- remember to plug the 12v AC adapter or you won't get any display.
4- Don't forget to test you other components with another motherboard to make sure it's the board that's not working instead of any of the other components.

If it's still doens't work you can send it back and we'll test it and replace it if necessary. Keep in mind that we test every single piece of hardware we receive and if it's found to be working you'll be responsible for s&h charges.


What does he mean by this?
3- remember to plug the 12v AC adapter or you won't get any display.
what adapter?
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3477
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 2:30 am
Location: USA

Re: bad motherboard?

Postby yeshuas » Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:53 pm

Xstream wrote:Thanks, tried that with no luck, the guy wrote back with these suggestions....


1- if you already installed the motherboard in a case then take it out and test it on top of a cardboard box (or something like that) to make sure it's not grounding. Clear the CMOS jumper for 10 secs while you have the board outside the case and then set it back to normal position.
2- make sure you test with with different power supplies and memory sticks. If possible use good quality RAM (high density ram is more likely to have compatibility issues)
3- remember to plug the 12v AC adapter or you won't get any display.
4- Don't forget to test you other components with another motherboard to make sure it's the board that's not working instead of any of the other components.

If it's still doens't work you can send it back and we'll test it and replace it if necessary. Keep in mind that we test every single piece of hardware we receive and if it's found to be working you'll be responsible for s&h charges.


What does he mean by this?
3- remember to plug the 12v AC adapter or you won't get any display.
what adapter?


This is a 4 pronged plug (2 rows of 2) that is near the CPU usually
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: bad motherboard?

Postby yeshuas » Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:58 pm

connector is circled in RED

Image
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: bad motherboard?

Postby Xstream » Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:21 pm

oh yeah, I did that, I just wasn't sure what he meant.
Anyway, with the cmos cleared and still not luck, I'm thinking I'll have to send it back.
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3477
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 2:30 am
Location: USA

Re: bad motherboard?

Postby yeshuas » Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:27 pm

And you are sure the CPU is alright?
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: bad motherboard?

Postby Xstream » Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:31 pm

no, I don't have a way to test the CPU.
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3477
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 2:30 am
Location: USA

Re: bad motherboard?

Postby yeshuas » Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:45 pm

I would see if this guy wants to either put out the money for another CPU, provided you can find one; or simply spend a little bit more and get a lot newer system, and then transfer what you can from his harddrives
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: bad motherboard?

Postby Xstream » Wed Jan 14, 2009 9:11 pm

I'll talk to him later tonight, thanks for all the help.
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3477
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 2:30 am
Location: USA

Re: bad motherboard?

Postby Xstream » Wed Jan 14, 2009 11:05 pm

He decided to scrap it, he can return the MB for a refund minus a restocking fee. He gave me the pc for parts, not alot worth keeping, but there is a 160 gb hdd. I can use that. :geek:
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3477
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 2:30 am
Location: USA

PreviousNext

Return to Hardware and Customizing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests