A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Another stupid problem (memory)

Another stupid problem (memory)

Postby imintheloserssquare » Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:20 pm

I'm so sick of this crap what is the d*mn problem now.
i had 2GB of pc6400 memory installed. I bought 2 more 1GB sticks and put those in. now all the piece of garbage computer wants to do is sit there and give some crap blue screen message and reboots. so whats wrong this time? is the memory broken or what.
also the memory is detected in POST and in the BIOS menu.

btw the memory is the same brand same speed and same amount 4x1gb
im using that asus vista premium motherboard and running vista 64bit
The Windows Machine:
2.2ghz AMD 64 X2 4200
4GB PC6400 ram
300GB raptor drive+160gb back up
ASUS M2N32-SLI Premium Vista Edition
creative soundblaster XFI music
Nvidia Geforce 8500GT PCIe 512mb
windows vista home premium 64-bit
-and-
2.6ghz macbook pro with snow leopard
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 3:32 am
Location: MN

Postby coreyw2000 » Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:30 pm

How far does the startup get? Do you see the boot screen? The login screen (or welcome screen, if you only have one user)? What is the BSOD error code? I have found that RAM can be stupid sometimes... it has be ordered right on the mobo. Try switching the two new ones with the two old ones, and see what happens. Are they EXACTLY the same? Like completely the same name, brand, series, speed, etc?
Be nice to nerds.... chances are you will end up working for one

<u><b>Current system</b></u>
ASUS M3A78-EMH HDMI
AMD Athlon X2 6000+ o/c'd at 3.2GHz
4GB (2x2GB) OCZ RAM
Integrated Radeon HD 3200 (HDMI out)
500GB SATA/360GB IDE HDD's
32" Sharp 1080p Monitor/TV
Vista RTM/Vista SP2 Beta/7 6801
PROfessional Member
Posts: 4644
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 5:30 am
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Postby imintheloserssquare » Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:14 pm

oh they are defiantly dead. i talked to a computer guy about it and he said i gotta send them back so i will do so.
The Windows Machine:
2.2ghz AMD 64 X2 4200
4GB PC6400 ram
300GB raptor drive+160gb back up
ASUS M2N32-SLI Premium Vista Edition
creative soundblaster XFI music
Nvidia Geforce 8500GT PCIe 512mb
windows vista home premium 64-bit
-and-
2.6ghz macbook pro with snow leopard
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 3:32 am
Location: MN

Postby Malhovic » Fri Nov 14, 2008 7:58 pm

Before you send them back, make sure to test the sticks on their own in the original spots of the old memory DIMM's. The reason being, it could actually be the motherboard on your computer that is not happy with the 4GB of RAM as it could have a bad memory slot or something else of that nature. I have seen it happen so just be sure to test it first.

Image

PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 2216
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 10:23 pm
Location: New York, USA
Real Name: Terry Hashley

Postby imintheloserssquare » Sun Nov 16, 2008 10:59 pm

i first installed them in the 3-4 slots on my motherboard
then when that didnt work i took them out and installed them in the 1-2 slots.
still didnt work
put in the old 2 that i have..booted right up fine.
couldnt be the slots because it recognized everything and ive used the 3-4 slots before with no problem
but we will see.if it happens again i will look into the matter further.
The Windows Machine:
2.2ghz AMD 64 X2 4200
4GB PC6400 ram
300GB raptor drive+160gb back up
ASUS M2N32-SLI Premium Vista Edition
creative soundblaster XFI music
Nvidia Geforce 8500GT PCIe 512mb
windows vista home premium 64-bit
-and-
2.6ghz macbook pro with snow leopard
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 3:32 am
Location: MN

Return to Hardware and Customizing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
cron