A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

8800PPD on Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz? Here's how!

Forum rules
Welcome to our modest though robust team of folders! You are all more than welcome to join us or ask specific questions about how to go about folding but please start a new thread to post your questions, this way nothing of importance will be lost and everyone here will help you out.

If you just want to chat folding then the Folding@Home Home thread will be great!

8800PPD on Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz? Here's how!

Postby augie » Fri Apr 10, 2009 4:49 pm

This is interesting to say the least but mind you I won't be OC'ing to 3.6GHz anytime soon! :shocked: Anyone have a spare machine? :whistle :lol:

http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php ... 1033949894
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: 8800PPD on Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz? Here's how!

Postby yeshuas » Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:33 pm

augie wrote:This is interesting to say the least but mind you I won't be OC'ing to 3.6GHz anytime soon! :shocked: Anyone have a spare machine? :whistle :lol:

http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php ... 1033949894

I'm not going to OC my CPU either, having the GPU OC'd 10 % makes enough heat in my case.
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: 8800PPD on Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz? Here's how!

Postby augie » Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:57 pm

It's a novel method though, I mean not doing VM SMP. If you take the OC out then just on raw numbers that PPD should be around 6.7K on a stock Q6600 which is an impressive gain! Jeez, depending on the core I get, I average around 1.5K PPD. I have an SMP due in 3 hours so If I'm not too wasted I'll try this out. If it doesn't work out then it's a simple deal to restart the VM. I did try dual VMs but my rig became quite slow so we'll see what happens with this.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: 8800PPD on Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz? Here's how!

Postby yeshuas » Fri Apr 10, 2009 6:15 pm

yes that is the same thing that happened to mine, trying to run 1 GPU and 2 SMP clients and still use it to work on. My computer was so slow and crashed every once in a while, it may have worked if I hadn't been OC'g the GPU too. :lol:
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: 8800PPD on Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz? Here's how!

Postby augie » Fri Apr 10, 2009 6:30 pm

Hmm, I think I'll wait after all. This guy knows his stuff.

Edward2
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: 8800PPD on Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz? Here's how!

Postby yeshuas » Fri Apr 10, 2009 6:56 pm

augie wrote:Hmm, I think I'll wait after all. This guy knows his stuff.

Edward2

This guy appears to be saying that even though we are asigning 2 cores per VM it is really only using 1 and slows it down, is that what he is saying or did I totally read that wrong??
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Return to Distributed Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
cron